Gulliver’s Travels

Posted: May 29, 2011 8:41 am in New Release Review

Gulliver’s Travels

PG – 85 Min – 2010

Check Out The Trailer

Starring Jack Black as Lemuel Gulliver and Jason Segal as Horatio, “Gulliver’s Travels” is about travel writer Lemuel Gulliver as he takes an assignment in Bermuda, but ends up on the island of Liliput where he towers over its tiny citizens.

I have really given Hollywood too much benefit of the doubt lately. For some odd reason I kept the thought of a potential glimmer of hope in the back of my mind in regards to this movie. Being that this story was always one I liked as a child, and I usually get a kick out of Jack Black, what’s to lose right? Well, 85 minutes of my life, that’s the answer.

This film does it best to not stray away from the child movie formula that Hollywood has cooked up. So if you’re looking for something fun and different, you shouldn’t look this direction. The only thing we get is Jack Black doing everything we expect to see him do, only toned down an incredible amount to merit a “PG” rating. And with a supporting cast like there was, you would think that they would be shooting for a “PG-13” rating and maybe aiming the jokes and plot more for adults. Nope. You know, maybe I would have liked it, 11 years ago.

Jack Black is a funny guy. His signature brand of humor has been fine crafted by him through out his career, and now he won’t rarely ever do anything different. He does his obnoxious “Tenacious D” style singing in the movie. He does his crude potty jokes in the movie. He even shows his butt crack (another one of his shticks). But like I said, it’s toned down, a lot. Jason Segal, who I’ve come to expect “R” rated humor from, was the main supporting role. It was good casting, though odd and out of place for a children’s film. Emily Blunt, who’s not even  very attractive, is an annoying actress. She was Gwen Conliffe  in “The Wolfman” (a god awful movie), and I didn’t like her in that. So that’s two for two, one more bad flick and she’s out. Amanda Peet was pretty good in the film, this was like a reunion of sorts between her and Jack (last movie they were in together was “Saving Silverman” back in 2001). T.J. Miller rounded out the odd cast in his small role as Dan. Now I’ve seen it all by him, a more serious role in “Unstoppable“, a goofball in “She’s Out Of My League”, and now in a children’s movie.

The movie did make me crack up, but it just wasn’t original enough. And it’s not even like I have a beef with it due to it being aimed at a younger audience than me, because I love sitting down and watching those kinds of movies. There was potential, they just chose to go the cookie cutter route. Also, what was supposed to be all big scale and epic, just really turned out the opposite. And the ending was atrocious. Jack Black and cast sing “War” by Edwin Starr as a way of mending the rocky relationship between two nations. Wow. Oh and sorry to spoil it (though it was obvious) he gets the girl and the job at the end. Skip it, I know I won’t make the same mistake twice.

Leave a Reply

