True Grit (2010)

Posted: June 22, 2011 6:14 pm in Review

True Grit

PG-13 – 110 Min – 2010

Check Out The Trailer

Starring Jeff Bridges as Rooster Cogburn, Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross and Matt Damon as LaBoeuf, “True Grit” follows the story of a tough U.S. Marshal when he helps a stubborn young woman track down her father’s murderer.

I am not a man of western movies. I mean, as a kid I watched my fair share of John Wayne films, and that is what I compare that whole genre to. Now, that may be foolish of me, and I may be missing out on some good movies, but I only think of John Wayne when I think of a western. When they unveiled the remake of one of John’s most famous movies (but one of the only ones I have never seen), I felt somewhat interested for once. What I found in this film is that I had been right about missing out.

Being that I don’t have the knowledge of the first film to compare the remake to, I cannot say for sure that this one was better. But, it is hard to imagine that it could have been inferior to it. Jeff Bridges was amazing in this role. I saw him for the first time as Obadiah Stane in “Iron Man”, however I realize now that he’s been in quite a number of famous roles prior to that. And since he made a pretty awesome bad guy in “Iron Man”, I didn’t know if I could shake the typecast I had in my mind. But boy, was I wrong. He shone bright as Rooster, the man with “true grit”. And he was a bad ass, I wouldn’t mess with him, even with only seeing out of one eye. Hailee Steinfeld, who aside from having a last name that sounds identical to a certain comedian I know, is an unknown. She did a great job, at being a pain in the ass little whiner the whole movie. But at least she could act, I guess. I really thought that having Matt Damon, or Jason Bourne to me, in this movie would seem weird and out of place. All up until I saw him in his first scene. Then I was perfectly fine with having him in this role. Not only did he rock it, but he some how shed his secret agent persona when he donned that cowboy hat. Another notable actor was Josh Brolin as the murderous Tom Chaney. He didn’t seem to change much of anything (besides the face makeup) since his last western adventure as Jonah Hex in, well, “Jonah Hex” (Aka- a movie that is a complete and udder waste of your time).

I really enjoyed the movie, and also loved the scenes with LaBoeuf and Rooster when they would get into arguments. Especially when, while Rooster is completely drunk, they have a shooting contest. The movie had a lot of action, and yet, a lot of story line. The Coen Brothers did an excellent job of retelling a famous and loved story, and from what I hear, they stayed very true to the original. If only John Wayne were alive to see Jeff Bridges filling those big boots as the man with “true grit”. Any one thinking they should remake “Rooster Cogburn“?

Check this one out. If you’re a fan of westerns, a fan of Jeff Bridges, or a fan of John Wayne, I think everyone will find something they like in this film. And this coming from the guy who doesn’t like westerns.

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

