X-Men: First Class

Posted: June 24, 2011 9:43 am in Theatrical Review

X-Men: First Class

PG-13 – 132 Min – 2011

Check Out The Trailer

Starring James McAvoy as Charles Xavier and Michael Fassbender as Eric Lehnsherr, “X-Men: First Class” is the prequel to the X-Men series, following the future Professor X and Magneto who are best friends dedicated to harnessing their powers and promoting the education of fellow mutants during the turbulent 1960s. The duo works together to stop a powerful adversary that threatens mankind, but their ideological differences drive them apart and turn them into ferocious enemies.

Hurray! Get To The Monkey’s first Barrel of Monkey’s review! And thank goodness, I thought the day would never come when I would go to the theater and come back with a new favorite film. I am a huge Marvel fan, and especially an X-Men fan. I loved all of them, aside from finding laughable aspects to the 2009 entry, “X-Men Origins: Wolverine”. So when I found out that they were doing another origins film I was pumped. So much so, that I about went to the midnight showing. If I had, it wouldn’t have been a waste of time or money.

Let me start out with some complaints, as there aren’t very many. I realize that to fill Patrick Stewart’s shoes has to be a challenge. I mean c’mon, he IS Professor X. But I can’t say that I was 100 percent on board with James McAvoy portraying this iconic role. Maybe it’s hard to shake the hoofs out of my mind, but that was the only casting problem I had. That being said, he did do a really good job, the only thing I’m saying is that compared to his predecessor, it was hard for my mind to make that transition. The other thing I had to say, I didn’t like the casting for Mystique, Jennifer Lawrence. She had the boobs, er, shoes of Rebecca Romijn to fill. Of course, all of those thoughts went away as there was a nostalgic cameo from Ms. Romijn about mid way through the movie. Aside from the two casting problems, I couldn’t think of anything wrong with this one. Michael Fassbender was perfect as Magneto. He captured the essence of Ian McKellen’s interpretation, then adding youth and rage to the character. He was easily my favorite character in the film. Kevin Bacon did a great job as Sebastian Shaw, just one of the biggest bastards of a bad guy I’ve ever seen. His mutant power was pretty beast too. Speaking of beast, Nicholas Hoult played the young Hank McCoy/Beast previously played by Kelsey Grammer. As you can see there are a few differences between the two, but I didn’t mind. The rest of the cast of young mutants were all pretty good. January Jones as Emma Frost, that was just amazing. Eye candy, and a good performance. Michael Ironside, the voice of my favorite video game character Sam Fisher from “Splinter Cell”, had a small spot in the movie. I thought that was cool. One thing I noticed is that there was no Stan Lee cameo in this movie. He’s had one in pretty much every Marvel film to date, so that was weird.

There were so many scenes in this movie that were awesome, I don’t know if i can choose one to be my favorite (I lied, the best scene in the movie involves a surprise cameo from someone and I’m not telling who, it is so funny though). Pretty much every scene with Magneto was great, and yet they didn’t outshine any of the other character’s scenes. When a movie can be so good that there wasn’t a better part than the other, you know its a good one. I’d have to just buckle down and say that the very end when we see Charles and Eric become Professor X and Magneto was probably the most exciting part of the film. It was a great build up, and an even better pay off.

Speaking of build up, the soundtrack was excellent in this installment. Usually Marvel movies have a pretty epic soundtrack with a lot of tension build up, and this was no exception. I went and bought two of the songs from iTunes.

This is definitely one to go see in theaters, one I will absolutely be buying when it comes out. There is no secret scene at the end of the credits (which is weird being that pretty much every Marvel movie has those now), so I can save you the ten minutes of credits I waited through for nothing. But the movie was so good it didn’t need an extra scene to make you want to see more, cause I’m already counting down to “First Class 2”. Just please Hollywood, don’t call it “Second Class”.

Leave a Reply

